The Rainy Florence

As you know, I live in Florence, one of the most beautiful city in the world. Crowds of tourists every day come in Florence but when it rains, only few people remain around. Few weeks ago, it rained for three days and when it stopped I decided to go out and make some photos, even to find some water reflections.

So I went in the historical center of Florence with my camera. I started the tour from “Piazza della Repubblica“, a rectangular square, a nice example of the Reinassance. The sun was lowering and the clouds were clearing, leaving some chinks for the light. The tiles of the floor were wet, giving lucidity and reflections, furthermore the bright carousel gave lightness and dynamicity.

From there, I went in “Piazza della Signoria”, here dominates the square “Palazzo Vecchio“, that is the town hall of Florence. The building is really beautiful, thanks to the ashlar finish, the bell tower, the clock, the battlement and the various coats of arm. If you are in Florence, you should visit also the interior of Palazzo Vecchio, because there are several courtyards and rooms to see. To improve the square there are the copy of the “David di Michelangelo” and the statue “Ercole and Caco” of Baccio Bandinelli, the fountain of Neptune and the “Loggia della Signoria” a loggia full of famous statues. Fortunately I found a little puddle of water where there was a partial reflection of Palazzo Vecchio, so I took the picture also profiting by the moon on the top left.

Since it was almost sunset time I moved in “Piazza Duomo” to find another reflection. As I imagine you know, this is the main square of Florence, here there is the Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Flower.

The church in the Gothic style has the wonderful dome engineered by Filippo Brunelleschi. The Cathedral is part of the cathedral complex that includes the Baptistery and Giotto’s bell tower. These three buildings are part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site. Unfortunately I found only a little reflex where there was reflected only a side of the Cathedral.

Finished the tour of the entire square, I have dedicated myself to photograph the Duomo, taking advantage of the movement of the clouds.

 

When the sun went down, I came back at home, but when it’ll rain again I’ll try to find other reflections.

 

Good light to everyone

 

Carlo

Leave a Reply

